Finding Your Voice

Live to Write - Write to Live

In order to find your voice, you have to use your voice.

Many years ago, when I was single, I occasionally went on dates. I remember sitting in a diner with a nice man who’d asked me out for coffee. It was so long ago I can’t remember what he said. I do remember I disagreed with him—in my head. I never said anything out loud. In that moment I knew I wouldn’t go out with him again. If I didn’t care enough to express my opinion, to show him the real me, it wasn’t going to work.

When I went out with my husband, I was full of stories and opinions from the very first lift ride. Our first “date” was a daytrip to go snowboarding with my sister. See how I care enough to tell you that?

I have struggled to find my voice as a…

View original post 201 more words

Leave a Reply

